How to decommission a Windows 2012 Domain Controller and Active Directory

I’m currently busy testing a few things and copied my lab DC’s virtual disk to 2 other machines. I need to decommission Active Directory on these two machines and thought that I’d share the steps on here.

First off the Domain Controller is decommissioned and then Active Directory is decommissioned. Note that the server is the only DC in my network which means I’m also showing the step to decommission the last DC in an AD environment.

About Tiens van Zyl

I am a Microsoft Exchange Engineer for a local IT Outsource company assisting with 3rd line support to our Enterprise clients and Hosted Exchange Service. I'm a passionate gamer and also a very active musician. View all posts by Tiens van Zyl

Leave a Reply

